Get ready to pitch your ideas - Dates will be announced soon!

ideablitz! is a venue for Hiram students to develop and present innovative ideas, ranging anywhere from new inventions to improvements on existing inventions to not-for-profit enterprises responding to alleviate a local or global problem.

Students can compete individually or as a team with up to five members, with the chance to win cash awards of $500 (1st Place), $300 (2nd Place) or $200 (3rd place).

Each presenter or team has five minutes to pitch their idea to the panel of judges followed by a two-minute question and answer session. The judges will determine the top three prizes finishers based on these critieria: Idea or Concept; Market Need and Industry; Technology Attributes; Competitive Attributes and Pricing; Uniqueness; and Quality of Presentation.

To better help you prepare, we offer two workshops:

ideablitz! Workshop #1 - What you Need to Know to Pitch at Blitz!
Date TBD
East Hall Forum

ideablitz! Workshop #2 – Perfect Your Pitch for Blitz!
Date TBD
East Hall Forum

Registration is required to participate in ideablitz!
If you are entering as a team, one team member should be responsible for registering the group.

Registration will open in October 2014

ideablitz! 2013

At the fifth annual ideablitz! competition on November 7, 2013, fourteen innovative ideas were pitched by students from across the college to a panel of outside judges. Each student or team had five minutes to present followed by two minutes of Q&A. Ideas were judged on concept, market need, technological and competitive attributes, pricing, uniqueness, and presentation.

The top three winners were:

First Place - Nicola Pedretti ’16

Second Place - Nicole Pueyo Svoboda ’15

Third Place - The team of Devonta Fleetion, Michael Helco, Margaret Picolo, Richard Simpson, and Andrew Torres, all 2014 graduates

Judges: Scott Altman, Senior Vice President, Raymond James; Joseph Koelliker, President and Owner of Koelliker and Associates; Al Meszaros, Founder and Partner of Midwest Investments; Dan Moss, Owner of Unswing; Chris Romeo, Owner of Attention to Detail.


ideablitz! 2012

First Place – Spencer Birney '13

Second Place – Richie Webb '16

3rd Place – Jacob Vaughan '16

Judges: Scott Altman, Senior Vice President, Raymond James; Dar Caldwell, Founder and Managing Partner of Launchhouse; Daniel Moss, Owner of UnSwing; and Joe Bica, Mayor, City of Ravenna; and Harriet Rubin, author, consultant, and Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow.

ideablitz! 2011

First Place - Harrison Dickerhoof '15, Oliver Dickerhoof '12, Christian Dowdy '15, Isaiah Gwynn '14 and Tiffany Shields '12

Second Place - Dario Pelemis '15, Jeff Schofield '15, Jayveer Sodiwal '15 and Kamron Patterson '15

Third Place - Claudia Allen '15, Maryann Frank '14, Elidia Hernandez '15, Kyle Meggas '15 and Curtis Webster '15

Judges: Scott Altman, Managing Director of Wells Fargo Bank Investments; Dar Caldwell, Founder and Managing Partner of Launchhouse; Matt Minarik, President of Hi-Q Group; Daniel Moss, Owner of UnSwing; and Chris Romeo, Owner of Attention to Detail.

Read more about the 2011 ideablitz! competition.

ideablitz! 2010

First Place -Lisa Bartlett

Second Place -John Jordan & Karen Ising

Third Place -Allison Steele, Artel Moreira (partnering with Simone Gabriela) & Caitlyn Ruese

Honorable Mentions -John Kesegich, Jessica Fross, Michelle Rosenbaum, Corey Trusso & Nana Kwamena Takyi-Micah

Judges: Jennifer (Godwin) McCarty, Senior Account Executive at JWT Action; George Rose, Accounting & Economics Instructor, Retired; Brad Myers, CEO PeopleKeys®

ideablitz! 2009

First Place – Tiffany Peake

Second Place – Alex Dellas & Jennifer Godwin

Third Place – Jennifer Warren, Teri Bradshaw & Anthony Morgan

Honorable Mentions – Bonnie Brentar, Marc Parker, Tim Isaac& Stephen Dunn

Judges: Stephen Behm, University Hospitals of Cleveland; Barry Conway, Conway Greene; John Dearborn, Jumpstart, Inc.; Robin Harbage, EMB America LLC; Mary Holmes, MKH Consulting

▲  Return to Top